

News Release

For Immediate Release

Inuit Uqausinginnik Taiguusiliuqtiit appoints new members

Iqaluit, Nunavut (July 8, 2015) – Nunavut's Minister of Languages George Kuksuk today announced the appointment of two new members to the Inuit Uqausinginnik Taiguusiliuqtiit (IUT). Rosemary Avrana Meyok of Kugluktuk and Louis Tapardjuk of Igloolik have been appointed to serve three -year terms on the IUT board of directors.

"Ms. Meyok and Mr. Tapardjuk have a wealth of experience and expertise to contribute to the important work of IUT and our government with respect to Inuktut and official languages," said Minister Kuksuk. "The Government of Nunavut aims to support the meaningful engagement of Inuit language speakers in daily life activities provided through programs and services. I wish to also express my appreciation to Daisy Dialla and Ovide Alakannuark, who have completed their terms on the IUT board."

IUT's mandate is to help expand knowledge and expertise about the Inuit language, and to make important decisions about its use, development and standardization. The IUT board of directors also provides guidance and assistance to the Government of Nunavut in providing high quality Inuit language information and services.

Ms. Meyok and Mr. Tapardjuk were selected from over 37 nominations received from the Qikiqtaaluk and Kitikmeot regions.

Established under the *Inuit Language Protection Act* (ILPA), the IUT was established in 2008 to contribute to the government's positive action to ensure Inuktut remains at the center of education, work and daily life in Nunavut.

Media Contact:

Qajaaq Ellsworth Manager of Communications Department of Culture and Heritage 867-975-5526 QEllsworth@gov.nu.ca